The Wolf In Winter by John Connolly

wiw

I loved this book the first time I read it and I think I loved it even more this time around. Connolly’s writing is simply brilliant and while the climax of the book is short and arguably less interesting than the rest of it, it gets the point across. (I’m pretty sure the point is “Don’t fuck with Angel and Louis” but I could be wrong.)

The small snippets about the wolf made me love it even though it’s barely there. A few hundred words about a wolf who was hurt and then gets killed basically is a metaphor for the life of Charlie Parker. I have yet to read a Charlie Parker novel where someone isn’t trying to kill him but hey, that’s what makes his story so interesting.

Speaking of interesting, the town of Prosperous sure is, You don’t really understand what’s going on there until about 3/4’s of the way in other than the fact that they need a girl for the town and that boys don’t work so well. Also there’s the fact that the board of selectmen don’t seem to understand that Angel and Louis will kill anyone who tries to kill Parker. They really needed to do their homework and they didn’t.

Two thirds of the way in we pretty much stop hearing from Charlie because of circumstances and instead the story is told in third person, seeing as Charlie Parker novels often switch between POVs this isn’t all that unusual.

The only thing I didn’t like about this book was the abrupt ending. I get that it’s easier this way but I really needed to know if Charlie was going to be okay. I mean, I understand that he was due to the fact that he “left” but still, I wanted to see it happen, I wanted him to wake up.

As is normally a problem for me in Charlie Parker books, there just didn’t seem to be enough of Angel and Louis. I absolutely adore these characters and can’t seem to get enough of them. Their banter was brilliant as always and I look forward to reading more of them in A Song Of Shadows (which is sat next to me as I write this up).

All in all, this book was superb, I could barely put it down and I’ve already read it once before.

I would definitely recommend this book

I would definitely recommend this book

John Connolly can be found on Twitter here or at his website here

2 thoughts on “The Wolf In Winter by John Connolly

  1. I just finished ‘Song of Shadows’ – it pretty much starts right where ‘wolf’ left off. Let’s say that after finishing ‘Song’, I think we’ll see a strong return to the mythology of the series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

