Life or What To Do When You Have No Idea (General update)

First a little background: Some months ago A friend and I argued because she couldn’t understand that “no” is a complete sentence and I didn’t have to explain myself to her. She apologised, I told her I forgave her but that didn’t mean we were friends, in fact, I told her, it means quite the opposite. It means that while I’m mature enough to understand that she repented, it didn’t mean we had to be friends still if I was going to have to explain myself every time the answer to one of her questions was no.

Skip forward a year and she’s text me asking to meet for a cup of coffee to talk, saying she’s in a better place, asking how I’ve been. All commendable pleasantries, I’m sure but still I find myself torn as to whether or not I should accept her offer of coffee and a chat. There’s been a lot going on in my life since our falling out and I’m not at all sure I want to discuss any of it with her. I’ll admit I’m intrigued, I want to know exactly what she has to say that she thinks will get her back on my good side.

There are plenty of things I could do, I could ignore her completely, I could reply and say I’m not interested (which is a lie, I am interested but not for the reason I think she wants), I could tell her that I’ve been waiting with bated breath for her to come around and ask me to meet with her (another lie, I’ve mostly just carried on with my life) or I could simply say yes and get it over with.

I’m not normally one to cut my nose off to spite my face but I feel like that’s what I did when I told her we were no longer friends. and so I went with the last option. I told her I was doing well, asked after her son and said yeah, coffee sounds great, I’ll let you know when I’m free.

That may seem a little harsh. “Why does it have to be when you’re free?” “What if she isn’t free when you are?” “Why do you have to set the day?” and the answer is “I’ve always dropped everything for her, it’s about time I set the details of a meeting between us.”

So; What do you do when you have no idea what to do? My advice; wing it.

Also a review is incoming later today, I just have to finish the book I’m reading first.

Leave a Reply

