Shadowborn by Moira Katson.

shadowborn

When I first started reading this book I was wondering “What even is this book about?” Now I’ve figured it out And although it takes a while and there’s the same old back and forth throughout and no particular twists, I have to say I’m happy I read it, at least a little.

I’ll admit the only reason I got this book was because it was free on Amazon at the time and Bookbub recommended it to me (If you haven’t checked out Bookbub, I’ll write another post for you to look at soon). The other books in the series are £2 each so I don’t think I’ll be reading them any time soon.

The thing that annoyed me about this book is that both lead females were “strong” women. You know the type, they’re the Katniss Everdeen of their world. After all, what other options do you have? If you’re not the Katniss Everdeen, you’re the Bella Swann. But why? Why are these the only options for female characters? I want a female Ron Weasley, who’s biggest concern is food and whether or not their friend is being a tosser by entering his name into the goblet of fire without telling anyone. I want females like Hermione Granger who aren’t afraid to say they’re scared but get on with it anyway.

Anyway, enough of my random rant, all in all the book was ok. I probably won’t read it again mostly because I probably won’t buy the rest of the series.

It was ok, I probably won't read this book again

It was ok, I probably won’t read this book again

You can find Moira Katson on her website here

Leave a Reply

