Gene. Sys. by Aaron Denius Garcia

715sk9RSD4L._SL1100_

I’ve been hearing about this book a lot on Twitter, granted it’s mostly retweets from the author, but still, It’s one of those things you think “Well, I should probably read it if only to see what the fuss is all about.” Well, am I glad I read this book.

At first I didn’t really get it. I mean, I’m not a huge fan of dystopia but by the time I got to chapter three I was hooked. The story follows a Genetic System (Genesys) named Atom. He and 11 other Gensys are supposed to recreate the world when the scientists who created them destroy it. The thing is, the people of Cairo where the facility is, don’t really like that plan and they’re trying to stop it. I totally understand the regular human’s viewpoint. I wouldn’t like to find out that a bunch of scientists were planning on destroying the world  and letting it be taken over by genetically modified humans either. But Atom is so relatable, He doesn’t want it to happen either but he can’t stop it so he accepts it. And then suddenly, the book ends.

If you know me well, you’ll know there’s nothing I like more than a really long book. Except maybe chocolate and idioms that don’t make sense, but that’s another kettle of fish entirely.

I could quite easily have read this book if it was longer, in fact, I would have preferred it to be longer to find out what happens after the fallout without having to wait until the next book (Will there be a next book, Mr Garcia? There better had be).

I'm glad I read this book

I’m glad I read this book

Aaron Denius Garcia can be found on Twitter here and on his website here.

Leave a Reply

