Conrad’s Fate by Diana Wynne Jones

13759

I didn’t like this book as much as the others and I’m not entirely sure why. The first thing that I think it was is that is was written in First Person. Not that I don’t like FP POVs but it just doesn’t seem to fit with Wynne Jones’ style too well. It felt a little forced. Like, what appears to be all the Chrestomanci books I’ve read so far, the ultimate bad guy is part of the hero’s family. I’ll admit that’s beginning to grate on me a little now too but I doubt it would have when I was a kid.

Christopher and Millie appear again in this book, Christopher is looking for Millie who ran away from her Swiss Finishing School because it was boring and she wasn’t learning anything and as usual, trouble seems to follow him around.

Another reason I don’t think I liked this book was because I didn’t really like Conrad all that much. He didn’t have much of a personality and just seemed to be a non entity throughout the book which is quite a difficult feat when you consider he’s the main character.

All in all, I would say that this is not one of Diana Wynne Jones’ better books and I hope the next one is a lot better.

I probably won't read this book again

I probably won’t read this book again

Leave a Reply

